A reader shares a resource

From my email:

Hey Moose;

I’m thinking on what you said a few posts back about the fact that jobs will be lost.

I believe it.

I know the company that I work for is extremely liberal and there’s plenty of ways to move someone out the door if the need arises.

I’ve thought about the whole “work for yourself” thing for the last 25 years, but I never felt that I could really do it. My one attempt was when my family returned unexpectedly from the mission field and I had to scramble to create my own work when I couldn’t find a job. Even that wasn’t enough and we went deep into debt before I found work. I didn’t do it well and have been shy to attempt anything again.

Bottom line, I’ve been afraid.

Now it’s time to get afraid in the other direction. The fear that I WON’T have my own business is becoming a reality.

Anyway, here’s a resource.

Gregg Harris is primarily know in the homeschool community. He’s written books and done seminars since the late 80’s, I think. His twin sons Alex And Brett wrote a book called “Do Hard Things: A Teenage Rebellion Against Low Expectations” and son Josh wrote one called “I Kissed Dating Goodbye.”

In 1993. some friends of ours attended a workshop by Gregg Harris called the “Home and Family Business Workshop.” Somehow, I ended up with their workbook from the workshop and I’ve gleaned what I could from it, but it’s just a printout of the Powerpoint slides from the preso, so low on detail.

After your post, I went looking to see if there were recordings available.

And I found them from a ministry that distributes FREE audio materials. Though I’m not from their theological branch (and I’m not sure that Harris is, either) the fact that these are available is a good thing.

Here’s the link for the set in question: http://www.ephrataministries.org/msg_detail.a5w?vlast_index=SET51

I ordered the MP3 version on 1 CD and it came within a week. They asked for nothing, but I slipped them $15, and the info is worth much more.

I’ll be going back to pick up another copy, as well as the Gregg Harris set on Homeschooling: http://www.ephrataministries.org/msg_detail.a5w?vlast_index=SET7

Hope this is helpful.

 

5 thoughts on “A reader shares a resource

  1. Stumbled upon http://survivalblog.com/redoubt/
    For comm they use Ham radio. I just passed by Extra exam.
    Oh, I found the redoubt via a review of the freeze-dryer I’m getting (so I can have local “know your farmer” food through the next winter or five – or 25 if I spring for oxygen absorbers).

    Like

  2. I meant to include that I probably won’t use all the preserved food, but can sell it in turn at the Farmer’s market, paying for the device (Similar for the opensource metal milling unit – good for circuit boards, but it was designed and comes ready to do something else – see “ghost gunner”).
    I’ve also thought, why not pick a locale, and/or do home computer development (we’re all responsible and disciplined so will put in 40 hours even if we don’t have to commute, aren’t we?) or such to create a tech center. No feminists, no SJWs, judge you by your code and productivity, and pay for it. Cost of living outside the “freak show” is so much lower, so you can charge a bit less to out-compete them, yet keep lots more. Until it collapses, Amazon Prime is still free 2 day shipping to the boondocks.
    My home small farm town has municipal fiber. The bottom tier is better than Saturday’s at the home office, and I work for “big data”, and if it ever becomes worth it I can go symmetrical gigabit. The larger pipe is in a co-location center about an hour southeast if I ever need a huge pipe.
    Side note – it is arid but there is irrigation, however the supply is, at least to the farm edge, all gravity fed – no grid required. And there are many CSA, no-GMO, organic, natural farmers and ranchers that would probably not notice much and could reboot agriculture.

    Like

  3. @TZ:

    The explanation of the “Redoubt” makes me wonder how familiar this guy is with Montana. He rejects the Dakotas, noting that plains make excellent maneuvering areas for tanks, but neglects to mention that the entire eastern half of Montana is also plains. Anyone that has driven highway 2 knows there is plenty of space for tanks from Shelby east to the Dakota border. I think his idea is wrong in terms of scale–rather than a Christian community that engulfs 4-5 states, many small Christian communities spread far and wide. One large group is far easier to attack and decimate than many small groups.

    Like

  4. Just a comment on the “Home and Family Business Workshop.”

    Having listened to more of it, it’s not going to be a perfect resource for every situation – since it’s from the early 1990s, it’s pre-Internet, which is a huge market to leverage for today’s home/family business. But will the future provide access to the internet? Are traditional skills and lines of business a smarter investment?

    However, there is so much helpful, foundational knowledge that it is a very worthwhile investment in time. In particular, much discussion on Biblical aspects that most would not have encountered in the typical business book. He also talks about aspects that he speaks of as cultural, but I would consider tribal (the “we take care of our own,” mentality). I ordered two more copies to pass around.

    Like

  5. Rawles’ SurvivalBlog is a good resource, but he’d be the first to admit that his opinions are just that – opinions. He’s in the “Redoubt” and who could blame him for wanting to surround himself with armed, like-minded neighbors? He invites like-minded folks to move to the area, but frequently posts about other “redoubts” in different places.

    It was a daily read for me a number of years ago and the information is usually high-quality. I learned quite a bit from it and still dip my toes in from time to time, but there’s so much information it’s easy to get lost and it’s not well organized and after awhile there’s a certain repetitiveness in the information. But if you want to drink from the firehose of the Prepper community, that’s the place to go. I have found it valuable.

    Like

Please read Comments Policy prior to posting

