Moratorium on female commenters

I have been contemplating whether I ought to follow Cane Caldo’s lead on female commenters. My blog has a slightly different purpose and far less commenting than Cane’s, but after reflection I have come to the conclusion (aided by the comments of one Jamie Carter) that I need to take the same measures to create the atmosphere most conductive to the goals of this blog. I fully expect this to drastically reduce the comments on my posts, but hopefully it will keep the comments section from detracting from the overall goal. Therefore, as of today, 08Mar15, comments left by women will be deleted. I have updated my About page to reflect this new policy, and have added it to the message each person sees when he leaves a comment.

4 thoughts on “Moratorium on female commenters

  1. I fully expect this to drastically reduce the comments on my posts,

    We shall see. What I expect is that the comment count will drop immediately, and the view count will start to dip as individual women decide they have been snubbed and leave off reading altogether. After that levels off, I expect to see more comments from men, and better quality (according to a metric where “better” means “more useful to men”).

    If I am right then the numbers will only climb after that, because wherever good men are perceived to be women will be besides themselves to get in on the action.

    Liked by 1 person

Please read Comments Policy prior to posting

